Grand Alley Sky (NaPoWriMo Day 14)

lightning

 

Mother always said
that God
had his fun, too –

bowling
with the angels
was a favorite
pastime.

How hard he
threw the ball, I
knew. Pins crashing
kept me up
for hours

and if I
squinted hard
enough, I could
see them
dancing with the
disco lights
just behind the curtain-clouds.

One day I’ll join
them in that grand
alley, see his
laughing face when
he bowls another
strike

and forget my speech about all
those spoiled
bedtimes;
He too knows

time flies when
you’re having
fun.

 

Copyright © 2015 Amaryllis Torres

Leave a Reply

