To My Comforter (NaPoWriMo Day 11)

My darling, my sweet, I
think of the days when
you were close as my
own skin wrapped around
me, like silk.

Those days slipped
into night and still we
were together. You never
objected to another episode
of Doctor Who, to another
snack of Flaming Hot Cheetos,
even when in my excitement
crumbs flew all over you.

In those days, you
were my warmth, my
place of safety that hid
me away from the
chaos of the world.

But the chaos has
caught up with me,
my dear.

It ripped me away
like the searing agony
of a band-aid being torn
from a hairy arm

and you became a
crumpled heap on
the ground,

abandoned. And I
only wish

that I could fold myself
into you once
again and

snuggle up in
a cocoon on
our bed.

But life has
other plans,
namely

final exams.

And you, oh, you,
sweetest, warmest
comforter
that I

bought on sale at
target for
$16.99,

you are left
to suffer

alone.

Copyright © 2015 Amaryllis Torres

Leave a Reply

