April’s Fool (NaPoWriMo Day 1)

image

April’s Fool

You are old news

The first to chip
the porcelain edges of
my heart

with your eyes
poised, sharp
like the inhale
before a tsunami
falls

I was
drawn in by
exquisite, painful
stillness

You are old news

The water slamming down,
tumbling over young landscape turned
wretched
dragging me along
until I am scraped
raw

You are old news

Your pages yellowed and
corners frayed

I am a fool for
blowing the dust
off the cover, for

tracing my fingers
over the imprints
your words left
behind

I am a fool for reading

Old News

But then,
one day a year

I am allowed to be

 

Copyright © 2015 by Amaryllis Torres

5 responses to “April’s Fool (NaPoWriMo Day 1)

Leave a Reply

