I fear too much what people think

I fear too much what people think
– but wish it wasn’t so –

to climb a tree with no shoes on
and see how high it goes

I fear too much what people think
– but wish it wasn’t true –

to throw myself on grassy hills
and roll like children do

I fear too much what people think
– but wish it not the case –

to dance right through a thunderstorm
and get drenched in the rain

I fear too much what people think
– but wish I didn’t care –

to sing with joyful unrestraint
if anyone is near

And as I sit and mourn my bonds
– these shackles ’round my heart –

I start to wonder why we can’t
be simply who we are

“Be yourself!” I hear them scream
‘midst welcome signs and cheers

Yet “Weirdo!” “Strange one!” “Not like us!”
still ring within my ear

And so I fear what people think
– conditioning, you see –

too much to live with childlike zest –
wild, abandoned, free

Copyright © 2015 by Amaryllis Torres · All Rights Reserved ·

3 responses to “I fear too much what people think

Leave a Reply

